InnoSlab Laser

In a q-switched InnoSlab laser a slab shaped and contact cooled crystal and a Pockel cell are used.

A typical intensity distribution of the output beam in near field is shown in the following figure on the left. Along the small dimension of the pumping cross section the intensity distribution is Gaussian and along the large dimension the intensity profile is nearly top-hat with slight diffraction structures.

By using a cylindrical telescope and a spatial filter the laser beam cross section can be symmetrized. The figure on the right shows a typical intensity distribution in far field. After the spatial filter, a rotational-symmetric beam is produced with a beam quality M2 in one direction of 1.1 and of 1.2 in the perpendicular direction.

read more… ▼

Using a special beam shaping optic the original one dimensional top-hat beam can be transformed to a two dimensional top-hat beam with a rectangular or a square cross section. Laser beams with two dimensional top-hat and rectangular or square cross section are ideal beams for ablation processes with high throughput.

 

To scale the pulse energy and average output power an oscillator/amplifier setup is used. The Figure below shows the typical pulse energy and pulse length of the HD40I-E laser. The pulse energy is 50mJ at 6kHz and the pulse length as short as 7ns because of the short resonator, which is less than 10cm long. The peak power of 7MW is the world record of industry q-switched lasers at multi kHz high repetition rate.

The figure in the right shows the output power of a HD40II-E with Nd:YVO4 in dependence of the pump diode current. At 50kHz the average power is 400W. Using two LBO-frequency conversion crystals more than 300W average power in the green spectral range (the second harmonics of the fundamental infrared wavelength) was obtained. The pulse length is 8ns in the infrared (IR) and 7ns in the green (the second harmonic).

Our innovation is the InnoSlab technology which enables us to construct lasers that represent a new generation of laser beam sources. InnoSlab lasers are very compact laser sources and have the ability to obtain a high beam quality simultaneously with high efficiency and high output.

Through an optimal combination of crystal shape, cooling and resonator design, InnoSlab lasers have  special qualities not found with other types of lasers:

  • Short pulse duration and high peak output power – precision processing with small heat affected zones
  • High beam quality approaching the theoretical maximum – micro-processing
  • High performance and scalability – high productivity
  • Compact design and outstanding reliability – low cost of owner ship
  • High efficiency – low energy consumption and environment friendly
  • High flexibility in beam profile – processing with maximum energy efficiency.

Our standard product portfolio encompasses electro-optical Q-switched InnoSlab lasers with various laser media, pulse energy and output power and a choice of wavelengths

  • beam quality: M² < 2
  • pulse energy up to 60mJ
  • pulse length down to 4ns and to the ps-range (PX-series)
  • peak power up to 7MW
  • pulse rep. rate up to 100 kHz
  • average power up to 600W
  • wavelength 1064, 532, 355, 266nm

A distinguished and enabling feature of InnoSlab lasers is the tailored beam profile: from circular Gaussian, through line shaped one dimensional Top-hat to square two dimensional Top-hat – customizable for your requirements.

InnoSlab Laser

In einem gütegeschalteten InnoSlab-Laser wird ein kontaktgekühlter, slabförmiger Laserkristall und eine Pockels-Zelle verwendet.

Das Bild zeigt die typische Intensitätsverteilung des Ausgangsstrahls im Nahfeld. Entlang der kleinen Dimension des gepumpten Querschnitts zeigt sich eine nahezu Gauss´sche Intensitätsverteilung. Entlang der großen Dimension hat die Intensitätsverteilung nahezu Top-Hat Form.

weiter lesen… ▼

Zur Erzeugung eines symmetrischen Gauss’schen Strahls wird der Strahl des Resonators mit Hilfe eines Zylinderteleskops symmetrisiert und die beugungsbedingten Nebenmaxima werden mittels eines Raumfilters eliminiert. Das Bild oben rechts zeigt die Intensitätsverteilung im Fernfeld nach Symmetrisierungsoptik und Raumfilter. Nach dem Raumfilter beträgt die Strahlqualität M2 1,1 in der einen Richtung und 1.2 in der Richtung senkrecht dazu.

Unter Verwendung einer strahlformenden Optik kann der eindimensionale Top-Hat-Strahl des Resonators aber auch in einen zweidimensionalen Top-Hat-Strahl mit einem rechteckigen oder quadratischen Querschnitt transformiert werden (vgl. Bild). Zweidimensionale Top-Hat-Strahlen mit einem rechteckigen oder quadratischen Querschnitt sind ideale Strahlen für den Hochgeschwindigkeitsabtrag und das Struktuieren von Dünnschichten.

 

Zur Steigerung der Pulsenergie und der mittleren Ausgangsleistung wird ein Aufbau mit Oszillator und Verstärker verwendet. Das Bild zeigt die typische Pulsenergie sowie Pulslänge eines HD40l-E Lasers mit einem Nd:YAG Laserkristall. Die Pulsenergie beträgt 50mJ bei 6kHz, während die Pulslänge aufgrund des kurzen Resonators (<10cm) nur 7ns beträgt. Mit einer Pulsleistung von 7MW hält der HD40l-E Laser den Weltrekord unter den in der Industrie genutzten gütegeschalteten Lasern bei einer Wiederholungsrate, die mehrere kHz beträgt.

 

Bei 50kHz beträgt die Durchschnittsleistung eines HD40II-E mit einem Nd:YVO4 Kristall 400W. Durch die Nutzung eines LBO Frequenzverdopplers kann eine Durchschnittsleistung von über 300W im grünen Wellenlängenbereich erzeugt werden. Die Pulslänge beträgt 8ns bei der Grundwellenlänge im Infraroten und 7ns bei der zweiten Harmonischen.

Unsere Innovation ist die InnoSlab-Technologie, welche uns dazu befähigt Laser zu konstruieren, die eine neue Generation Laserstrahlquellen repräsentieren. InnoSlab Laser sind sehr kompakte Laserquellen und stehen simultan für hohe Strahlqualität, hohe Effizienz und eine hohe Ausgangsleistung.

Durch eine optimale Kombination von Kristallform, Kühlung und Resonatordesign verfügt der InnoSlab-Laser über eine Reihe von einzigartigen Eigenschaften, die nicht bei anderen Lasertypen gefunden werden können.

  • Kurze Pulsdauer und hohe Pulsspitzenleistung – Präzisionsbearbeitung mit kleinen wärmebeeinflussten Zonen
  • Hohe Strahlqualität nahe dem theoretischen Maximum – exzellent für die Mikrobearbeitung
  • Hohe Leistung und Skalierbarkeit – hohe Produktivität
  • Kompaktheit und hohe Zuverlässigkeit – niedrige Betriebskosten
  • Hohe Effizienz – niedriger Energieverbrauch und umweltfreundlich
  • Hohe Flexibilität bei Strahlprofilen – hohe Prozesseffizienz

Eine weitere Eigenschaft des InnoSlab-Lasers mit vielfältigem Nutzen ist das maßgeschneiderte Strahlprofil: von kreisförmig Gauss’schen, über linienförmige eindimensionale Top-Hat bis zu quadratischen zweidimensionalen Top-Hat – Individuell für Ihre Anforderungen.